Another New Year means another step-up in California’s minimum wage, which finally reached $15 for most employees in the state.
If your employer has 26 or more employees on their payroll, you should be making $15 per hour right now. Employers of 25 or fewer workers are a year behind on this schedule with a $14 per hour minimum wage for 2022, expected to rise to $15 next January.
Tipped employees are included in the new statewide minimum wage. Tip earners should be making the state’s new minimum wage rate for 2022 in addition to their tips.
What If My Area Has a Different Minimum Wage?
Some California cities and counties opted to set minimum wages above those of the state. Locally, these include Los Angeles City and Los Angeles County, which already have a minimum wage of $15.84. If your local area has a minimum wage that’s greater than the state’s, you should be paid the greater wage. If not, you should request back pay from your employer.
I’m Not Making the New Minimum Wage. What Do I Do?
Remember to take the number of employees your employer has into account: If your workplace has more than 26 employees (remember to count yourself), you should be making $15 in 2022. If there are 25 or fewer employees at your job, you should be making $14 right now.
If you are making less than this, you should discuss your situation with an experienced employment law attorney. At K2 Employment Law, we can help you get what you’re owed. We work on a contingency basis, which means that you don’t owe us anything unless we win your case.
If you’d like to learn more about how we can help, schedule a consultation by contacting our firm online!